Little Darlin’s Banana Bread

Cowboy Joe and I have lately been slowly working through the sitcom Big Bang Theory (if you know, you know!) In a particularly early episode, Sheldon’s attempt to elicit information from the gal across the hall includes fresh banana bread. According to Sheldon, social construct states that showing up at one’s door with food means an obligatory invitation inside the home of the recipient of aforementioned food. What’s it to me?

If you show up at my door with a smile and fresh banana bread, I will fling my door wiiiiide open for ya and brew coffee so black you’ll cry.

I came across the bananas for the namesake treat from my younger sister, who, upon moving to her new apartment, found that she wasn’t able to eat the bunch before the wonderful fruits ripened beyond her personal preference.

“Would you take these home and make banana bread?”

Uh, yeah? Is the Pope Catholic?!

Like many recipes I share with you, this, too is a play on the recipe from my momma. I have found that even if I’ve never made a recipe before, I will tweak it a little bit. It’s a real character flaw.

If you like tender, flavorful, banana-y bread, this should be next on your list of treats to create. In fact, I made this beautiful snackle for a few Christmas goodies. It wraps beautifully with transparent wrap and a large red ribbon!

Banana Bread

1 C. sugar
1/3 C butter, room temp
2 eggs, beaten
3-4 medium, ripe bananas
1/3 C water
1 2/3 C flour
1 tsp. baking soda
1/4 tsp. baking powder
1/2 tsp. salt
1/2 tsp. cinnamon
1 tsp. vanilla
1/2 C chopped walnuts

  1. Heat oven to 350* F.
  2. Cream together sugar and butter in a medium-large mixing bowl.
  3. Mash bananas and add to mixing bowl with water. Beat for 30 seconds at medium speed.
  4. Stir in remaining ingredients until just moistened. Be sure to scrape the bottom of the bowl and gently fold in any unincorporated dry ingredients.
  5. Pour into greased pan and bake until tested comes out clean (about 60 minutes).
  6. Cool for 10 minutes in the pan, and remove to cooling rack. Slice when cool enough to comfortably handle and slather with butter.

Our days have been cool, grey, and wet for the majority of our January. This tender morsel was the perfect pick me up for this week.

I’m working on an easier way for you to print, save, or download recipes in an easy place – hang with me, crew!

Leave a comment